I got new boots!

image

These glorious babies are now mine.
I needed boots. Like,  legitimately needed them. I went searching online, and stupidly decided to see what Fluevogs cost. As soon as I saw these, nothing else would do. The color was perfect. The style was classy and timeless. They were everything I wanted and more! And they were expensive. REALLY expensive. $#@&!
I hemmed and hawed and wrung my hands. I looked everywhere for another pair of boots I could love as much as these.
And then I gave up. I bought them. The last pair in my size. My hands were shaking as I placed the order. Was I worthy of such loveliness?  Could I handle the respnsibility of owning such nice boots? Would they be worth it, or would I wind up with an ugly case of buyers remorse?
The delivery was a debacle.  The store that shipped them failed to include my apartment number, so I waited all day only to have to pick them up from UPS.  I was nervous about opening the box. What if they didn’t fit? What if I hated them? What if the quality didn’t meet me expectations?  Was I foolish to have bought them?
The first thing I noticed when my shaking hands opened the box was the delicious leather smell. Not chemical like cheap leather. It was the rich smell of saddles, warm and lovely. They were everything I wanted.  They were the perfect purple, and made so beautifully you’d expect them to be antiques. The leather is buttery soft and armor sturdy. Magnificent!

image

image

image

image

image

Needless to say, I’m a bit obsessed. 
I haven’t worn them yet, because they are a very slim calf and I’m trying to lose some of the weight stress and meds put on before I stretch them to fit. Also, it’s still too warm. But I’m excited for fall, even more than I normally am. And I did try them on without zipping them all the way. They were SO comfy. Even with my ballet induced bunions they felt wonderful.

I won’t call this a review, since I am too deeply in love to have an unbiased opinion, but I can unquestionably recommend this boot. I hope to get ten years of wear out of them (which is not out of line since the sole is replaceable,  as is the heel) at which point they will be cheap at less than fourty bucks a year.

I should be posting regularly again now. My tablet decided to die last week (right after classes started. Thanks.) and although I am holding out hope that I can fix it, I had to figure out all the passwords I had stored in it and move all my stuff to my phone. :/
I’m settled in to classes and have (mostly) got everything figured out, so it’s back to business as usual!
Thanks for waiting for me!
If any of you are fellow Fluevogers out there, say hi in the comments and tell me about yours!

2 thoughts on “I got new boots!

  1. Did you ever wear the boots? I just bought the purple yesterday and love them. I think I’ll have to have the footbed stretched by my local cobbler for my extreme bunions. I know your post was over a year ago.

    • Sadly, not yet. I don’t want to stretch the calf since I’m trying to lose weight. 😛
      Some day…
      I actually stretched the footbed for my (mild) bunions myself. I put on socks and folded them back so they were thick over the front of the foot, and gradually layered more socks until they were stretched. You wear them a bit at a time with the extra socks and eventually they fit perfectly. A cobbler is probably quicker though! 🙂
      Let me know how the stretching works out! I’ve never had it done, but I’m trying to learn all I can about properly caring for shoes!

Leave a Reply

