A hard goodbye…

As you may know, our little girl cat had been fighting cancer for quite some time now. On Friday night that fight came to an end. I miss her so much, even though I am glad she doesn’t have to deal with the failures of her body anymore.
I wrote this poem for her today, so I thought I’d share it.

A Journey Without Luggage

She left us.
The trip had been planned for some time
Although no ticket was purchased.
We could not join her
Even though at times we wanted to.
We sobbed and said our goodbyes
At her point of departure,
Promising to join her someday.
Her body seemed so light
As it was carried away.
And all the heavy baggage
Was left with us.

Rest in peace sweetie. We’ll see you at the rainbow bridge.

image

I probably won’t be posting for a little while. I need to process this, and right now blogging just doesn’t feel as important.

Leave a Reply

